• Welcome to the Community Forums at HiveWire 3D! Please note that the user name you choose for our forum will be displayed to the public. Our store was closed as January 4, 2021. You can find HiveWire 3D and Lisa's Botanicals products, as well as many of our Contributing Artists, at Renderosity. This thread lists where many are now selling their products. Renderosity is generously putting products which were purchased at HiveWire 3D and are now sold at their store into customer accounts by gifting them. This is not an overnight process so please be patient, if you have already emailed them about this. If you have NOT emailed them, please see the 2nd post in this thread for instructions on what you need to do

Panels and Python and CSVs, oh my!

Robynsveil

Admirable
One of the loneliest endeavours one can embark on is that of self-taught add-on development. As a real Python developer can quickly determine from a cursory glance at my so-called "code", "self-taught" screams from every function.

But, it works.

So, my purposes have been satisfied, which were based on an insufferable laziness: I found painting shaders on figures imported from Poser to Blender a process needlessly tedious and repetitive. Even when copying and pasting entire shaders from mat zone to mat zone became a matter of Ctrl-C | Ctrl-V, doing that a few times became annoying, so a script seemed a good solution.

The original script worked, but it was very short on features.

Long-story-short, I've been adding features. "Oh, what a complex web we weave, when first we practice... to write apps." I know, not how it goes, but it's applicable.

Currently, the app looks like: